I'm Waiting On...

January 15, 2014

I dont usually do Waiting on Wednesday posts, but since I missed yesterday's Top Ten Tuesday, and I have some books that I'm really desperately waiting to read and share with you, this seemed like a good idea. Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the spine, where we spotlight books we're eagerly anticipating.

Title: Breathe, Annie, Breathe
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Publication date: July 1, 2014
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Goodreads
Eighteen-year-old Annie Winters can barely run a mile without wheezing. Still, she’s training to run the Music City Marathon in seven short months. Running is so not her thing, but she has to finish what her boyfriend started… before he died.

Annie feels guilt that she’s still alive and blames herself for his death. Plus, training gives her something to do, it’s a distraction. So is Jeremiah Brown.

He’s an adrenaline junkie who runs marathons backwards. He flirts with Annie on the trails and it makes her feel alive and happy and guilty all at the same time. She wants to both race into his arms and sprint in the opposite direction – because loving is a risk she’s not sure she’s ready to take again…
Why I'm waiting: I read the first book in the Hundred Oaks series a while back, and while I enjoyed it, the lack of depth in the plot was a little disappointing. But Breathe, Annie, Breathe sounds like it'll deliver on that count, and with Kenneally's writing, I think this is going to be a hit. Also, cover.

Title: The Here and Now
Author: Anna Brashares
Publication date: April 8, 2014
Publisher: Delacourte Press
Goodreads
Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

Thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking, The Here and Now is a twenty-first-century take on an impossible romance. Ann Brashares’ first novel for teens since The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Meet seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth. But everything changes when she falls for Ethan Jarves.
Why I'm waiting: I've heard a lot about Anne Brashares' Sisterhoos of The Travelling Pants, but I've never been motivated to pick it up, mostly because the storyline doesn't hold much interest for me. But this? YES! I've never read a time travel cum science fiction book before, and this sounds like intriguing. Also, the cover.

Title: Random
Author: Tom Leveen
Publication date: August 12, 2014
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Goodreads
Who's the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why.

Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It's a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on the line.

He asks for a single thing—one reason not to kill himself.

The request plunges her into confusion. Because if this random caller actually does what he plans, he'll be the second person connected to Tori to take his own life. And the first just might land her in jail. After her Facebook page became Exhibit A in a tragic national news story about cyberbullying, Tori can't help but suspect the caller is a fraud. But what if he’s not? Her words alone may hold the power of life or death.

With the clock ticking, Tori has little time to save a stranger—and maybe redeem herself—leading to a startling conclusion that changes everything…
Why I'm waiting: I'm always on the lookout for well written books dealing with issues, and Random's storyline sounds so... random. Helps that the title is a word I use often too :D. Also, cover (I think you're getting the hang of this now, aren't you? I love me some beautiful covers).

Title: Isla and The Happily Ever After
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Publication date: May 15, 2014
Publisher: Dutton
Goodreads
From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and √Čtienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.
Why I'm waiting: It's Stephanie Perkins. Period. Also, the cover happens to send me into raptures.

Title: After The End
Author: Amy Plum
Publication date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Harper Children's
Goodreads
She’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future.

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They've survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she's trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.
Why I'm waiting: Imagine what a huge cover up this would be. I honestly cant wait to fin out why. It sounds like its going to be an exciting mix of sci-fi and mystery/thriller. Also, doesn't that cover remind you a bit of The Day After Tomorrow?

What books are you waiting on this week?